Set Adrift On Memory Bliss

July 28, 2008 at 3:31 pm 8 comments

I was at my parents house last night and was going through a few boxes that I hadn’t brought with me when I moved out.  It was sure something else taking that walk down memory lane.  A place I haven’t been to in over 15 years.

During my ‘walk’, I came across a box FILLED with notes and letters my friends had written to me.  We used to write back and forth to each other in class and slip them into each other’s lockers, bags, etc.  We wrote about many topics, including the boys we liked, the stuff we did when we weren’t together, our broken hearts, our happy moments and the troubles in our day to day lives.

I haven’t had the chance to go through all of them yet, as it will literally take me weeks, if not months to dent the hundreds of pieces of paper, some in a 3″ binder and the others folded into tiny squares (you remember those fun forms of origami we all used to compact the notes?).  However, I did skim through a few and let me tell you, it’s going to be interesting!  It’s too bad I don’t have the letters I wrote to them.  I wonder if they still have those letters?

This trip back to junior high and high school should be something.  Hopefully I can find some juicy, 15+ year old gossip to share!

Entry filed under: Babbles, Daily, Friends, In Case You Care, Life, Me, Memories, Nostalgic, People, Photography, Photos, Silly. Tags: , , .

My New Friend I Wanna…..

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hules  |  July 28, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    HAHA…nice title. I remember this song.

    Unlike you, I tossed all those memories, which were a few boxes worth. The only things I held onto was most cards from people from about 21yrs old to present. 😀

    This post reminds me of what Hilary has blogged/photographed…she went nuts on going through her stuff and I tell you ~ I got a kick out of reading her memories. This is even better since I know you so well. hehe 😉

    Those origami notes were the best. LOL

    Man, I suddenly feel old, as it was 20+ years ago I had all that stuff. It’s amazing how much we wrote back in those days. Something the kids/teens of today are missing out on. I highly think a text/pm/email is not the same…but they also know nothing else.

    Sigh!! Enjoy your trip down goofy memory lane!!

    PS – where is Crystal Joette? Does Patti have her, as I am thinking we need to have a FB photoshoot with the 3 of us and our babies. hehehehe

    Reply
  • 2. Cheeky  |  July 28, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Ah ha ha ha…I feel old too!

    I totally agree… the kids now are completely missing out. The fun writing in different colored inks, the doodling, etc… Texting etc, just isn’t the same.

    I have CJ. She’s with Jasintha at my parents house.

    K… seriously, we need to snail mail each other FULL of doodles and origami notes!

    Reply
  • 3. Romach  |  July 29, 2008 at 3:22 am

    WOW! Thats a lot of letters! Are your hands not sore lol. When Eiain Eiain and I first got together we were flying back and forth to see each other before I moved to England. We wrote thousands of letters to each other also. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 4. Cheeky  |  July 29, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    If I am feeling ambitious, I might actually count them all to see how many I really have. I love writing. I love typing too, but there is just something more personal to a handwritten letter, wouldn’t you agree?

    Did you guys keep all the letters you wrote to one another? I bet they would make a great read one day.

    Reply
  • 5. hthr  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    ohh yes! please share some of the content! so fun….I recently found my old diary, some notes (looking exactly like your photo!) and pictures….ohhh the pictures….

    Reply
  • 6. Cheeky  |  August 1, 2008 at 12:39 am

    I know, isn’t it fun to find little treasures like these? I know I would have a massive chuckle at myself if I ever found an old diary… I am such a nerd. I was in love with so many boys, it was embarrassing. LOL.

    I will be sure to share the content, have no fear! 😉

    Reply
  • 7. romach  |  August 1, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Oh yes we have kept everyone. We usually sent each other letters and post cards everyday for nearly 8 months and we have boxes full of them all put away for our children to read when were old tee hee. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. My Apologies « Tongue & Cheek  |  September 2, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    […] am excited to dig into my bag and binders of notes I recovered from my parents and share some of my silly teenage years of loving and crushing on a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

Previously...

Top Posts

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,753 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

