Is It All In My Head?

June 23, 2008 at 1:58 am 2 comments

I have always been sensitive to ‘things’ since I can remember.  I had a bunch of imaginary friends as well as random visitors here and there.  

To me, it was all normal.  As I got a bit older and passed that age where imaginary friends were supposed to go away and be replaced by real 3D friends, I still found comfort in my “imaginary” ones that I wasn’t ready to give them up just yet.  I eventually decided to tell people of my ‘friends’ and that’s when all the “It’s all in your head” and “they aren’t real” crap started.  I basically felt like I was a tiny bit cuckoo because none of this was happening to anyone else and no one wanted to hear me out.  It got to the point where my parents had gotten mad at me on numerous occasions for “making stuff up”.

As the years passed, I think my “friends” got a little angry that I started ignoring them as I had a bizarre and very scary reoccurring dream until I started paying them attention again.

Now, as far as I know no one has died on the property where I grew up and it seems to me like it’s not the house that was haunted, but me.  I have done a bunch of research on hauntings and discovered that not only can homes be haunted, but people can as well.  Since I have moved out of my parents house, nothing has changed concerning the goings on with me and the spiritual side.  They are still around me and I like that.

Back in 1990, my great aunt passed away and I had an extremely difficult time with her passing as we were very close.  I spent numerous days and nights in tears and fell into a depression.

One night after reading a book, I took off my glasses, rubbed my eyes and turned off the lamp beside my bed.  As I was getting comfy under my blankets, I noticed a light on my bedroom door.  I sat up and put my glasses back on and took a double take.  I turned my lamp back on, readjusted my eyes (looking away from it as to not get those spots you get when you stare at any sort of light then look away and see blobs all over the place) then proceeded to turn the lamp back off.  Much to my amazement, the light was still there on my door.  I got up and went to the window waving my hand in front of it to see if it was coming from outside.  I did the same thing with my mirror in case it was a reflection.  Nothing.  I sat back down on my bed and just stared at the light on my door.

It was oval in shape and had a greenish-blue colored glow to it.  Standing about three and a half feet tall, a foot and a half wide and about four inches thick and hovered about a foot off the floor.  It had a slow sort of wave from side to side as if it were sea weed in the ocean.  I have to say it was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen, yet it frightened me all the same.  

Once I finally took a deep breath and settled my nerves, I stood up and walked towards the door.  I held my arm out and waved it in front to see if I would cast a shadow.  Again, there was nothing.  I took a step back, took one final breath and stuck my hand right through it, touching the door with my fingertips.  It was freezing cold!  I stood there with my hand inside this glowing object and tears started to stream down my cheeks.  I removed my hand and ran back to my bed bawling.  I asked it what and or who it was and what it wanted.  It just moved about with no response.  After sitting there for what felt like eternity, I said I was scared and wanted to leave my room.  The beautiful glow simply moved away from the door as if to say “Ok, go ahead.”  That was when I felt an enormous weight lifted and the fear was suddenly gone.  I knew that whatever it was, it wasn’t going to hurt me.  That was also when I thought that maybe that was my aunt coming to tell me that she was ok and happy where she was and she just wanted to tell me that.

The glow came back a couple of days later and I welcomed it.  I told a close friend of mine what happened and had her come and spend the night, thinking that there might be a chance of it returning.  Well, I guess it didn’t want to show itself to anyone but me, as it only came when I was alone.  It had returned only a handful of times after that and I haven’t seen it since.

I wish I knew if it was my aunt or if it was someone else.  That was the last time I ever saw something that spectacular with my own eyes.  Since then, it’s been the moving of objects (sometimes on command), hiding of things only to return them to the very same spot a day or so later, turning the radio and TV on and off, flickering lights as well as doors and closets opening and closing.  I have also heard voices, felt someone touch me and play with my hair.

I have had all these things and more happen to me in all the places I have lived in since living at my parents.  So for me to chalk it all up to each and every place being haunted makes no sense to me.  I have had my ‘ghost(s)’ follow me to other places as well.  One time it got to the point where people didn’t want me spending the night at their house in case I accidentally left my ghost behind.  How silly is that?

I have to be careful who I tell this stuff to as well, because it frightens people to no end.  Some think I am clearly out of my mind and others think I could be a magnet and don’t want me anywhere near their homes.

Thankfully I am not as cuckoo as some would like to think.  There was one night where my hubby and I were watching TV, when all of the sudden out of the corner of our eyes some white thing went flying past, disappearing just as fast as it came.  I have seen this white thing before and it’s made me duck on more than one occasion.  Both my hubby and I looked at each other to confirm what we saw, had a nervous giggle and continued to watch TV.  I then looked at him and said,

“It’s about damn time I’m not the only one seeing things around here.”

Entry filed under: Childhood, Daily, Death, Depression, Emotions, Family, Life, Me, Paranormal, Secrets, Supernatural. Tags: , , , .

Updates From The Edge Keeping Watch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urbanvamp  |  June 23, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Amazing story. My mother actually had a similar experience just a few months ago where she saw a hovering light in her bedroom, reddish with gold flecks. She said the same thing as you, that is was the most beautiful thing she’d ever seen and that in her half-asleep state (since she wasn’t conscious enough to rationalize it) felt calmed and comforted by it. It returned once more but I don’t think she’s seen it since.

    Either way, you are not crazy at all. Just wonderfully gifted, enjoy it.

    Reply
  • 2. romach  |  June 27, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Do you know you could be one of these people that attracts spirits etc but thats nothing to be afraid of in itself . A lot of people who are sensitive to things like this usually become paranormal investigators because they are sensitive to this kind of thing and then when they go to haunted houses etc things start to happen. I know its always hard to convince other people when you ended up being the only one seeing things but I think we should all keep an open mind on things like this. I have had similar experiences when I was young but to this day I know it was real. I for one believe you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

More Photos

Previously...

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,705 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

