It’s Only Time Now

May 28, 2008 at 1:03 am 3 comments

I posted a while back about my Uncle dying of cancer.  Well, it turns out that it’s not stomach cancer after all, but pancreatic.  Apparently and unknown to him, he’s had this for a few years, but it just recently caused issues for him to have it looked into.

He was feeling well enough to make the sad trip to see his family for what probably will be the last time.

It was bittersweet.

When talking to my cousin, he told me the last few weeks were very emotional for them.  They spent it crying, sorting out the sales of all their property and belongings, finding my Aunt a place to live and crying some more.  He also told me that he is finally able to talk about it now as they went through most of the emotional stuff already, but as he said it his bottom lip quivered and all I could do was hug him.

I’m worried about my Baba with all this.  Her memory has been fading quite a bit lately and she’s having a hard time remembering people.  When she was told the news a few weeks back, she was sad but then the very next day she questioned the news and had to be reminded.  Maybe it’s a good thing she doesn’t remember everything like she used to?  However, how many times is she going to have to relive the knowledge and pain of her loss when she brings him up wondering where he is and people will have to tell her over and over again?  I’m hoping that won’t be the case.

My Aunt is in some pretty rough shape too.  Not only is she having to deal with the fact that her Husband of 41 years is dying, but when they were here visiting, her mother suffered a stroke back in B.C.  Her mother is 87, lives alone and is one stubborn lady.  She was found a day and a half later, laying on the floor.  I am unsure as to whether or not she was able to contact someone when this happened (I don’t know the severity of her stroke) but she is known to refuse help.  So she is now in the hospital from her stroke and also has a touch of pneumonia.  Chances are when/if she is released from the hospital, she will be forced to live in a seniors building which has medical care and I can tell you this…She will HATE it.

My Aunt told me that they will be spending as much time as they can relaxing (or trying to) since the next little while will be about getting her moved into her new place.  She already looks so lost.  Thankfully, they are able to deal with what they need to now so that it isn’t something they have to worry about later on.  I have to agree with my cousin.  It certainly takes one strong person to deal with all of these arrangements, basically say good bye to his mother and family and make sure no one is left with the burden of his death.

What tugged on my heart strings the most was looking at my Uncle.  It was just so wrong to see him so tired.  I don’t think I have ever seen him tired.  He was always busy, full of life and telling funny stories.  Now he is sad, scared and fragile.  When he was saying his goodbye’s to his siblings, I just stood there watching tears fall and the sadness pour out of everyone.

I was glad I got to see him and tell him that I love him.

He’s a fighter.  I just hope he will come out victorious!

Entry filed under: Daily, Emotions, Family, Health, Heartbreak, Life, Loss, Memories, Pain, People, Reality Bites, Sad. Tags: , , , , .

Wee Bits About Me Trying To Be Positive

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hules  |  May 28, 2008 at 1:23 am

    As you know, I wasn’t there, so I asked me Mum if me Dad cried. She said a little bit. That hurt me. I’m sorry I never saw Uncle Bob last week and haven’t for years, but I’m glad he is getting time to spend with his family.

    Baba asked about the funeral, as she wants to go. But her docs have advised against it, so they are looking to get someone to tape it. I know he’s not gone yet, but its a reality and Baba won’t let this go so easy.

    Sigh!

    Reply
  • 2. romach  |  May 28, 2008 at 4:34 am

    My heart goes out to your and your family. It is so so hard when a family member or close friend receives news that they have some form of cancer and then watching them deal with it and trying to deal with it yourself is very far from easy. I have had a few people die in my family of cancer too and I will never forget the last few weeks of all their lives and of how much they suffered. I try to remember them in better times but its hard. And its so hard for those left behind trying to cope with it too. My thoughts and prayers are with you and all your family. *hugs*

    Reply
  • 3. Uncle Bob « Roll Your Eyes  |  June 29, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    […] away due to pancreatic cancer.  My cousin, fellow PPH & blogger, Cheeks, has blogged about him recently, as she took learning of his illness very […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

Previously...

Top Posts

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,753 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

