Cancer’s A Bitch!

April 18, 2008 at 2:49 pm 5 comments

I just found out that my Uncle is dying.  He’s been complaining of stomach pains for a while now and all the previous doctor visits and testing he’s had done has come up empty.

Until now.

He was given the awful news that he has stomach cancer and it’s terminal.  They gave him a timeline of four to six months IF he has the treatments.

Just like that?

What, was the cancer playing hide and seek before so no one could see it?  I am beyond pissed off over this.  WHY does this happen to all the GOOD people out there?  Seriously.  Now, this is going to sound bad of me, but there are other people in my family that this could have happened to instead.  The useless drunks that do nothing but cause problems and grief within the family.  I suppose with all the alcohol consumption over the years it has preserved them enough that they are immune to things like this?

My whole heart goes out to my Aunt and Uncle.  They just celebrated their 41st wedding anniversary and had plans for once my Uncle retired and sold his company.  They were going to hop in their motor home and head to the Yukon, travel and enjoy life.  He has worked very hard his whole life and they were looking forward traveling that wasn’t work related.  Instead of thinking of the wonderful time they are going to have, they get to think of funeral arrangements and selling everything they own as my Aunt won’t be able to care for it all on her own.

My Aunt has a severe case of diabetes which requires extra care that my Uncle always gave her.  She has never been able to drive due to her bad eyesight from the diabetes, so he was someone she has always relied on and vice versa.  Now they have to look for a suitable place for her to live.

I can’t even imagine what my Cousin is going through.  He’s an only child and very close to his parents.  I can’t even think about losing mine.  I think I would die.  Thankfully he has a great wife and two wonderful kids to help him through this, along with the rest of his family.

My number two concern is my Baba.  This will be child number five that she will have to see buried before herself.  She is one strong lady, but I am afraid of what this news will do to her health.

I can’t speak for the rest of my Aunts and Uncles, but I know my Dad is taking this pretty hard.  They were really close and despite the long distance between them, they talked weekly.  We were planning a trip to go visit them in the summer, but it looks like that will happen sooner than expected.

This isn’t fair.  I just wish I could take their pain away.

I am so overwhelmed with emotions right now, from my own personal issues then to be slapped with this horrible news.  What’s next?

Entry filed under: Daily, Family, Health, Heartbreak, Life, Pain, People, Sad, Tragic. Tags: , , , , .

Girl Crush There Must Be Something Wrong With Me, Or So I’ve Been Lead To Believe

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JW  |  April 18, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Oh Jenn, I’m so sorry. I thought I’d check here to see if you’d written anything. I just knew it was something bad. It’s never easy to hear bad news like this. The sad thing is it seems like cancer has become all too common. My sister had a friend who died at the age of 26 from pancreatic cancer because they couldn’t figure out what was wrong with him. They finally did but by then it was way too late. He left behind a daughter that was slightly over a year old. We have an uncle that died at 62 from liver cancer because he drank too much years ago. I don’t mean to take away from your situation, I just want to let you know others have been there as well. It doesn’t make it any easier to deal with though. My heart goes out to your Baba. As you know no mother should have to bury their child. I haven’t yet told you how sad it made me reading about Mikey. It was just too overwhelming, I needed time to process all that information. As a mother I cannot imagine anything worse happening. Like I told Sid, there is nothing I can really say to make you feel better so I won’t say anything else. Just know that I have been thinking of you since last Friday. I will keep thinking of you now and I will include your family in those thoughts also. Have you talked to Sid today? Is this the same side of the family? I haven’t heard from her today.

    Reply
  • 2. Cheeky  |  April 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Thank you so much Jen. Cancer really sucks. I have lost other family members to it as well as friends and I just wish a cure was there!

    This is the same side of the family for Sid & I. This is our Dad’s brother and they aren’t taking it well.

    I am just overwhelmed with the timing of it all. Obviously no time is a good time to get news like this, but dealing with my own personal issues and adding this to the mix, it’s rough.

    Thank you very much for your concern and thoughts. It means so very much! Hope all is well with you and things with your family are getting better.

    Reply
  • 3. JW  |  April 18, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    You’re very welcome! Yes cancer really sucks…my husband’s grandma has lost several siblings to cancer and is always afraid she’ll be next. As for the timing, yes that sucks too. Yet another case of when it rains, it pours. (And it rained all day here today too.) I hope things are better with my family as well, I haven’t really talked to anyone but got a quick email from my mom today. She’s running back and forth an hour away to take things to my grandma while she gets settled. I haven’t gotten a chance to vent yet but I feel everything is still fresh in my mind! I found out from my dad that my mom was way more depressed than I thought she was. When she would get home she’d curl up and sleep then she’d snap at him if he said anything. What I need to vent about is a long story but my mom had bypass surgery in 2004 and has high blood pressure so she should avoid stress. That’s all she’s had lately is stress! So it makes me mad because she never wanted to tell any of her siblings or my grandma about it. But, my dad is stepping in now and making her tell them. The good news in this is he’s taking her away for a birthday weekend so she can get a break from it all. They were going to come visit us but he planned all of this (by himself!) and I’m very proud of him. So, yes maybe next week will be better. Take Care!

    Reply
  • 4. It’s Only Time Now « Tongue & Cheek  |  May 28, 2008 at 1:03 am

    […] 28, 2008 · No Comments I posted a while back about my Uncle dying of cancer.  Well, it turns out that it’s not stomach cancer after all, but pancreatic.  Apparently […]

    Reply
  • 5. Uncle Bob « Roll Your Eyes  |  June 29, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    […] cancer.  My cousin, fellow PPH & blogger, Cheeks, has blogged about him recently, as she took learning of his illness very […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

More Photos

Previously...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,705 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

