The Twisting In My Head

March 8, 2008 at 2:31 am Leave a comment

I am sitting here getting all excited for the summer to come as I finish watching Storm Chasers on the Discovery Channel.

 

I sooo want to hit Tornado Alley one of these years and watch storms brew and take some wicked photos documenting the event.  I have always wanted to do that.  Not quite as much as my cousin as she monitors weather everywhere, but I am up there with excitement.

 

Mother Nature is a bitch sometimes and to witness her wrath and fury is amazing and scary.  Back in 1987, we were hit with an F4 tornado which remained on the ground for an hour, leaving behind a 40-km trail of death and destruction, in some areas up to 1-km wide.

 

I remember the sounds of the baseball-softball sized hail clobbering the roof of the car leaving massive dents.  It sounded like someone was shooting at us.  The wind was unreal.  It rocked the car from side to side as my mom, sister and I were stuck inside, waiting for the chance to drive a few blocks home.  Winds topped 416-km/h in and around the twister and the rain pierced skin, it came crashing down so hard (I had welts on my arms).  

 

Thankfully that was all I had happen to me during the tornado. Well, that and falling flat on my back after slipping in a huge puddle of water on the kitchen floor while running into the house to close the windows.  Sadly, others weren’t so fortunate.  27 people were killed, more than 300 injured and over 1,000 were left homeless.

 

I still remember that day as if it were yesterday.  Every time the skies get dark, I head outside to check out the clouds wondering if we will have a repeat of that day.  

 

I wish that tornadoes and other disasters were restricted to areas where they would do no harm to anyone.  Let Mother Nature release her fury in an area where she can be studied and admired.  

 

If only it were that easy.

Entry filed under: Curious, Curious George, Daily, In Case You Care, Life, Me, Mother Nature, Outdoors, Photography, Seasons, Storms, Weather.

She’s Mean! Mmmmm, Tim Horton’s

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

Previously...

Top Posts

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,764 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

