Scent Of A Memory

January 15, 2008 at 5:10 pm 7 comments

The weather here is particularly nice today.  The sun was shining through the windows making hot spots on the floor where the cat would enjoy a short nap until her hot spot moved.  Then she would wake up, reposition herself four inches to the left and fall back asleep.

 

I opened the windows to allow the fresh air to enter and the stale air to leave, then I freshly ground up some coffee and brewed a pot.  I love the smell of fresh coffee at any time of the day.  There is something about the smell that gives me a hug when I need it.

 

Speaking of smells, my Sister is having a candle/crystal party at her house tonight and my plan is to suck out all the wonderful smells that each candle possesses and maybe bring a few home.  I just love scented candles, especially if they are cranberry.  I have a bunch of jar candles and oils that I burn daily.  The scent I choose all depends on my day or how I would like my day to be.  If I am in a cleaning mood, something light and fruity (Lemon Basil – Body Shop), if I am having company and want a nice soft smell or just want to relax (Tobacco Flower – Body Shop).  I have multiple scents for my many moods.

 

I find it interesting how certain scents can trigger certain moods or memories.  When I peel an orange, I am reminded of the mornings after we would spend the night at my Grandparents.  My Grandma would make us breakfast consisting of oatmeal, glass of milk and a freshly cut orange or grapefruit.  After we ate, she broke out all the fun crafts and we enjoyed the rest of the day making things until our parents picked us up to go back home.

 

It’s the same when I smell Ukrainian food being cooked.  It brings me back to when my Baba would have the family over every Sunday for dinner.  She had such a tiny house, yet the twenty or so people would fit nicely and enjoy the massive meal she cooked for everyone.  She is one amazing woman.  

 

Days like those will never leave my memory.

 

I hope that I can create the same triggers that my kids and future grandkids will look back on with fond memories.

Entry filed under: Babbles, Coffee, Daily, Family, Kids, Life, Me, Memories, Thoughts.

Blah One Moment, Please…..

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hules  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Ok Jenn – just how many candles did you purchase tonight so you can keep smelling? =)

    Awwwwww…memories of Baba!! One of the reasons I keep a jar of minced garlic in my fridge for those easy-access smelling situations.

    I don’t think we were there every Sunday. Did she forget to invite us? LOL

    I love my special scents. They sometimes not only bring an unexpected smile to my face, but at times, can fill a void that was left behind.

    Reply
  • 2. cheekybuddha  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:32 am

    You know….I bought NO candles! Oops, I lie. I bought 2 jar candles (ginger pumpkin & herbal mint) but they were last minute decision. They were originally 24 bucks each and I got them for 10 each.

    Couldn’t resist. =o)

    Reply
  • 3. Hules  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Yes, so you said earlier on chat. But I had to ask here again in public just to see if you produced the same answer. hehe

    And really – WHY wasn’t I there every Sunday?

    Reply
  • 4. cheekybuddha  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Ok, so maybe it wasn’t EVERY Sunday…But it was often! Maybe your folks had other plans and you guys weren’t there.

    You know Baba….OPEN invite to ALL!

    Reply
  • 5. Hules  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:45 am

    I know but now I have to go to therapy bcuz it is obvious my dad didn’t feel the long drive to Mundare was worth it on a Sunday evening and I missed out on what sounded like full out family fun.

    Reply
  • 6. cheekybuddha  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:48 am

    YOU DID! We had Perogy fights and everything!

    Reply
  • 7. Hules  |  January 16, 2008 at 2:50 am

    Ok – I gotta go and sniff the minced garlic from the fridge (to go with those dancing chickens).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

More Photos

Previously...

Top Posts

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,730 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

