Ahhhh…To Be A Kid Again

December 17, 2007 at 8:43 pm 1 comment

Since being on Facebook, I came across one of my dear childhood friends with whom I’ve made great memories.  She now lives in London, England.  We’ve exchanged e-mails catching up on the missing years and it was almost like time stood still.  Sure, we’ve grown up, lived lives and stuff, but we remember our childhood like it was yesterday.  Since chatting with her, everything and I mean EVERYTHING came flooding back one night and it made me realize just how much I miss being a kid.  I miss playing outside all day, making forts, riding bikes, running through the sprinkler, having sleepovers and the biggest worry we had, was getting all our playtime in before having to go home to bed.

I sure miss those days.  Some of the greatest memories were those when we would go out on the hill behind our houses, squish down all the tall grass and lay there staring up at the clouds, roll down the hill until we were too dizzy and laughing too hard to stand, in the winter, toboggan down the hill or make snow forts.

Nowadays, kids don’t do those things.  I think one of the main reasons for that is it’s not as safe for kids to be running around with their friends anymore.  Too many perverts and sickos out there cause paranoia.  There’s that and the wonderful world of technology.  Too many computer and video games keep the kids indoors.  There is also the junk food, to which we won’t even go.

I remember being so excited to go out and play with my friends.  We would take our allowances to the store once a week and buy ourselves a special treat, take those treats back to the fort in one of our back yards and play all day.  We were also very proud of our inventions we’ve created, calling our parents out to some and see them.  Whether it was a fort or a stage where we would perform many, many plays or concerts.  We had fun and they seemed to have just as much fun watching us.

Where did all the creativity go?  Why are so many kids too preoccupied with the TV instead of going on adventures in the yard?  It’s just too bad things can’t go back to the way they once were.  When they were calm, more peaceful and just plain old fun.

It just seems to me that people are just too busy to stop and relive their childhood and share that with their kids.

As for me, I’m off to go play in the fort we just made!

Entry filed under: Daily, Family, Kids, Life, Me, Memories, People, Stuff.

In Case You Care… Word Of The Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hules  |  December 17, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    and here I was lead to believe earlier today that we would be seeing the photo of the fort!! Denied!!

    I miss playing kick the can until late in the night!! It was the best times ever! EVER.

    PS – forts rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Me This…Twitter Me That

I’ve Been Published!!!

May not seem like a big deal to most, but it is to me! Look under Calgary Zoo and scroll with the side arrows until you reach the Elephants. Calgary Zoo

~A Word From Your Friendly Photographer~

For all Photography on this blog: All Rights Reserved© - J.D Photography, unless otherwise stated. Images may not be used for any purpose without my written permission or I will be forced to THROW YOU!

My Photo Blog

I have taken some of my favorite photos and posted them here for easy viewing. Enjoy! J.D. Photography

My Flickr Photos

Previously...

Top Posts

December 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

It’s All In Here

Blog Stats

  • 52,774 hits

RSS Edmonton’s Weather

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rate My Blog

Sun/Moon Rise & Set

Click for Edmonton, Alberta Forecast

